Club details

OUR HISTORY (in a nutshell!)

YM Tennis Club has been in existence for over 130 years. Our Club originated as the tennis section of Ipswich YMCA, hence the important ‘YM’ part of our name. Happily, despite what our name might suggest, young women as well as young men have been welcomed as members for quite some time!

In the recent past, YM Tennis has played at 4 different venues,  YMCA sports ground at Bourne End, old Ransomes & Rapier Waterside Works sports ground in Rushmere (still the home of Ipswich YM Rugby Club), Rushmere Sports Club and now at the Copleston Centre, part of Copleston High School.


SUMMER SEASON (end March to end September)

  • Tuesday Club Evening: starting at 6.30 and playing until we have all had enough! After play drinks are often taken in either the Centre bar or occasionally a local pub.
  • Saturday Club Afternoon: starting at 1.30 through to 4.30 when it is quite customary to continue socialising at the Centre bar or a local hostelry!
  • Match Nights: Mondays, Wednesdays and some Thursdays & Fridays during May, June & July


WINTER SEASON (end September to end March)

  • Tuesday Floodlit Club Evening: 7pm onwards
  • Saturday Club Afternoon: 1.30 onwards, playing until we have all had enough! After play drinks are often taken in either the Centre bar or a local pub.
  • Floodlit Match Nights: Mondays, Tuesdays & Wednesdays
  • Winter League: Ladies – Saturday mornings & Men – Sunday mornings


All club sessions are organised using a tried and tested board system, with the player at the bottom of the list choosing the next game from the next 8 players. Committee members make sure that club sessions run smoothly.

We hold competitive Drives on selected summer Saturdays and also hold an annual Quiz Night in November, an enjoyable evening, open to all comers.


  • President: currently vacant, to be filled once club restarts after Lockdown#3
  • Chair: Pravin Desai
  • Secretary: Lisa Jacobs
  • Treasurer: Adrian Cadge
  • Club Captains: Laura Mee & Alex Jacobs
  • Committee: Tracy Hurrell, Sue Poole, Ravi Bikkannavar, Ivan Brown
  • Webmaster, Fixtures and New Members: Lisa Jacobs


CONSTITUTION amended 2016 name change